Humanitarian action is fraught with challenges, and frequently has no choice but to act in the face of considerable uncertainties. The use of evidence and evidence-based approaches – knowing what does and does not work in responding to conflict, disasters and other emergencies – is crucial to improving the effectiveness and efficiency of humanitarian interventions. With access to information and evidence greater than ever, promoting evidence-based approaches to humanitarian action has been given much attention in the past years.

What does the greater focus on evidence mean in practice for humanitarian work? Do institutional and political agendas promote the selective design or application of evidence-based approaches? Are there situations where focusing on evidence conflicts with other priorities? And how do evidence-based approaches relate to accountability? In other words, what are the limits to an evidence-based approach to humanitarian action?

As part of Humanitarian Evidence Week, on 7 November, PHAP will host an online discussion, looking critically at the concept of evidence-based approaches to humanitarian action.

The event will feature an overview of the concept of evidence and how it has been used in the humanitarian sector. The presentation will be followed by a moderated discussion on the dilemmas of evidence among a panel of experts. The event will also provide the opportunity for participants to share their perspectives on the topic discussed, through the live chat and the possibility to pose questions to the panelists.

Read the article by Marc DuBois on the main concerns regarding evidence in the aid sector

Event time

Tuesday, 7 November 2017
New York: 09:00 - 10:30
London: 14:00 - 15:30
Geneva: 15:00 - 16:30
Amman: 16:00 - 17:30
Nairobi: 17:00 - 18:30
Bangkok: 21:00 - 22:30
Manila: 22:00 - 23:30
To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.

Target audience and event access

The event is particularly targeted to humanitarian practitioners, who are seeking for a stronger understanding of the various approaches to humanitarian action. The event is also open to the public. In order to join the event, please register in advance at phap.org/7nov2017-register

Register now

Recommended resources

Guest experts

Nancy Cartwright Professor at University of Durham and University of California, San Diego (UCSD), and Co-Director, Centre for Humanities Engaging Science and Society (CHESS), University of Durham
Paul Knox Clarke Head of Research, ALNAP
Lars Peter Nissen Director, ACAPS
Momodou Touray Development Advisor, Independent

Event host

Marc DuBois, currently an independent humanitarian consultant/researcher/blogger, was the Executive Director of MSF-UK from March 2008 until March 2014. He joined MSF in 1999, landing as a project coordinator in Khartoum, Sudan, where he managed a basic healthcare program. Following Sudan, Marc went to Angola as a Humanitarian Affairs Officer and then moved to Amsterdam, spending over six years in the Humanitarian Affairs Department of MSF-Holland, first as an advisor and later as head of department and researcher. Marc has an undergraduate degree in philosophy, an MA in development studies and a degree in law.

Geneva Humanitarian Connector

This event is made possible through the Geneva Humanitarian Connector, an initiative of PHAP supported by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

Cet article vous a été utile et vous a plu ? Soutenez notre publication !

L’ensemble des publications sur ce site est en accès libre et gratuit car l’essentiel de notre travail est rendu possible grâce au soutien d’un collectif de partenaires. Néanmoins tout soutien complémentaire de nos lecteurs est bienvenu ! Celui-ci doit nous permettre d’innover et d’enrichir le contenu de la revue, de renforcer son rayonnement pour offrir à l’ensemble du secteur humanitaire une publication internationale bilingue, proposant un traitement indépendant et de qualité des grands enjeux qui structurent le secteur. Vous pouvez soutenir notre travail en vous abonnant à la revue imprimée, en achetant des numéros à l’unité ou en faisant un don. Rendez-vous dans notre espace boutique en ligne ! Pour nous soutenir par d’autres actions et nous aider à faire vivre notre communauté d’analyse et de débat, c’est par ici !